UP CLOSE AND PERSONAL with… Theophilus Jeffrey Seleka

Posted: 01/10/2015 in Infotainment
Jeffrey Seleka guarantees excellency.

Jeffrey Seleka guarantees excellency.

Sedibeng FM went on-air amid much fan-fare promising to be the next best thing after a slice of bread. The much travelled Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the station Jeff Seleka opened his door Reginald Nhlapo to share on his initiative as well as the vision and further gives an insight on the controversial statement he uttered that Sedibeng FM is the first community ra¬dio station in the Vaal to cater for black audience in the region.

BRIEFLY INTRODUCE YOURSELF…
I am originally from Limpopo, father of three (two daughters and a son). The only son to my parents having being raised by my mother, and I reside in Orange Farm. Aca¬demically I think I attend roughly three primary schools then went to do my high schooling at Provi¬dence Academy.

YOUR BACKGROUND IN THE MEDIA
I studied Media Studies at Boston College where I majored in Radio, Advertising, Public Relations and Marketing. My career in radio be¬gan when I joined Thetha FM as Head of Marketing, Advertising and Sales. Funny enough, though I was not a presenter but I was the first guy to go on-air for approxi¬mately two to three hours. I was with the station from 2005 to 2008.

FROM BEING HEAD OF SALES TO BEING ON-AIR, HOW DID THAT COME ABOUT?
Actually, that was all part of the plan. Upon delivery of the broadcasting gear the techni¬cians had to provide training (on the use) and I happened to be the main person whom they were communicating with therefore I was at ease with op¬erating it more than the others though I must say that I love ra¬dio but more being behind the scene. I prefer being the man behind the success of the sta¬tion and not behind the show; in a nutshell I hate fame because it has its own consequences.

THE ESTABLISHMENT… OF THE STATION, THAT BEING ‘IT’ JUST A DREAM, ‘IT’ BEING PUT INTO CONCEPT AND IN THE END ‘IT’ BEING A PLAN EXECUTED
After I left Jomo Cosmos I contemplated about it, I then identified the area which is where the Vaal came into mind having realised that in the re¬gion there was no radio station that catered for the blacks as the ones already in existence were based out of the Vaal. Thetha is based in the greater Johannesburg south; VUT FM is a campus station which is out of the question while VCR is white-dominated. A typi¬cally example would be a fa¬ther from the neighbourhood mending our household, how about having a father within the household. I approached Independent Communication Authority of SA (ICASA) and enquired about the availability of spec¬trum for a frequency around the Vaal, submitted a proposal then was granted a frequency that was in 2012.

The application for broadcast¬ing license commenced in 2013 and it was granted in August the same year while the spec¬trum license was obtained this year.

In the end we went on-air on the 26 April, though normally programming started in May 2.

All of these were a collective effort with the enormous help from the station’s Chief Finan¬cial Officer (CFO), Nkgabiseng Tsotetsi and Chief Operating Officer (COO), Thys Diale.

WHERE WOULD YOU… LIKE TO SEE THE STATION HEADING IN THE NEAR
FUTURE?

I would like to see one of the Sedibeng FM’s staff members emulat¬ing me as the CEO of the station one day. The core of the station is to make an impact in the lives of our communities especially the listeners whether socially, educa¬tionally or otherwise.

YOUR BEST MEMORABLE MOMENTS IN THE MEDIA INDUSTRY?
Being the first black guy to ever work for Media Connection (which is the biggest company in the community radio sector)

Leave a Reply

